Monday, December 31, 2012

Some History Snippetts of Abbey Row, Athenry (Revised 2018) by Ronan Killeen

The historian Aggie Qualter wrote in her book Athenry Since 1780: History, Recollections and Folklore that ‘Abbey Row was occupied by Cromwellian soldiers in 1650-1651. They were billeted in a three storey structure formerly part of the Dominican living quarters’ (i.e. Athenry Dominican Priory), while the archaeologist R.A.S. McAlister added: ‘In the eighteenth century the transformation of the old Dominican house to a barrack no doubt aided to the ruin of the church which was wantonly defaced by soldiers. The total absence of monuments between 1730 and 1780 is to be noticed.’

Qualter goes on to state that ‘the barracks were later occupied by various regiments; 37th regt. of foot which became the last to leave Abbey Row in 1819 when the police militia moved in and remained until the Royal Irish Constabulary was established’. The police next occupied the new barracks at Cross Street from about 1850, in a road off Abbey Row. Latterly, it became the F. C. A. barracks and it is now a restaurant called the ‘Old Barracks’.

 For many decades the Abbey Row barracks was vacant, this in an era when the general housing conditions in that area were ‘the lowest of the low’. Squatters would be evicted, but frequently returned before the barracks building itself was finally demolished and the existing (photographed) Abbey Row estate was built and finished sometime in the 1890s.

 The image, above right, has the old National School and the handball alley/Athenry Abbey that many SEGAHS readers will be familiar with. The Postcard is from a photograph called ‘Abbey Bridge’,

 Part of the Valentine collection in the National Library. My understanding is that the collection is named after the Scottish Photographer James Valentine.#

 Sources: 1. MacAlister, R. A. S., ‘Athenry Dominican Priory’, Journal of Galway Archaeological and Historical Society, sixth series, vol.3, no.3, Sept 1913, p.198 . 2. Qualter, Aggie, Athenry Since 1780: History Recollections and Folklore, (Qualter, 1989), p.20-21 . 3. Ibid. 4. National Library of Ireland Photographic Collection, (On-line) 5. For a basic background on valentine, see 

Friday, December 14, 2012

Ireland 1916: Explorations of History Making, Commemoration and Heritage in Modern Times by Dr. Mark McCarthy by Ronan Killeen

A former lecture of mine Dr. Mark McCarthy who thaught me Modern Irish History, Social History and Genealogy, and Enviroment and Planning in my Alma Matter of Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology, Galway has recently launched his book Ireland's Rising 1916: Explorations of History Making, Commemoration and Heritage in Modern Times. The book can be purchased at this link to
Ashgate publishers

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Athenry Historic Politcs: Who ran in the General Election of 1923 by Ronan Killeen

This may be a temporary article until I can do more with it - I know I should start of with the General Election of 1918 but the General Election of 1923 is more available to me at the moment:

From January 1919-May 1921 consisted of 73 MPs (Members of Parliament) chosen in the 1918 General election who refused to Westminster and formed the separatist government.  Eamon De Valera became became the DaĆ­l president.
I am going to skip past the 1919-1921 War of Independence and Civil War to the General Election in 1923. In an article from the Irish Times the following ran for election. This will also include those for the Galway area. What I notice about this election is that the occupations that ran were either Farmers, Professors and Solicitors'.


Patrick J. Horgan, Solicitor and Farmer, Loughrea.

Padraic O'Maille, Farmer, East Maam.

Michael Tierney, Professor University College Dublin.

John Broderick, Farmer and Contractor, Athenry.

Patrick Curley, Farmer and Merchant, Killamore, Ballinasloe.

Thomas Dillon, University Professor, Dangan, Co. Galway.

William Dolly, Farmer, Moniview (Monivea? He was mentioned in Paddy Kings Old I. R. A. Witness
Statement from the Bureau of Military History 1913-1921 as part of the Irish War of Independence) Co. Galway.

John Quinn, Solicitor, Tuam.


Patrick D. Conroy, Garafin, Rosmuc.

Martin Finnerty, Knockboy, Colemanstown.

Martin E. Egan, Killnadeema, Loughrea.

James Haverty, Moylough.

Michael O' Brian, Tuam.


Herbert C. Mellows, Journalist, 21 Mount Shannon road, Kilmainham, Dublin.

Louise O' Dea, Solicitor, Eyre Square, Galway.

Frank Fahy, Secretary of the Gaelic League, 25 Ruthland Square Dublin.

Colm O'Cleary, Teacher of Irish, Inver, Rosmuc.


Athony J. Fallon, LL. B., Solictor, Galway.

James Cosgrave, Farmer, Eyrecourt.


Thomas J. O'Connell, General Secretary, I. N. T. O's. 9 Gardiner's place, Dublin.

John McNally, Sawyer, Ballinasloe.


Thomas Sloyan, Commercial Agent, Tuam.


James J. Hoban, Farmer, Kiltormore, Ballinasloe.

Patrick J. Hogan got the most votes of 7, 563 1st preferences.

List of Publicans and Hotel Owners/Managers 1856-1936 by Ronan Killeen (Merry Christmas!)

1846 [1] Margaret Barrett, (Hotel and Posting House); Matthias Cannon; John Dunleavy; John Holleran; John Whelan. 1856 [...